Friday, May 29, 2009

Happy Birthday to...me. :)

Another year older. where does the time go? I feel as though i just turned 21 yesterday! However, i've made out pretty well so far in the gift department. I got $300 from grandma, with which i used to purchase my new, bigger bed. My parents also threw in some $$ towards the bed and bought me a few other things i have not yet received. Kyle got me a $150 gift certificate to the spa! A few other things should be coming my way later today. I feel so blessed. Things haven't been easy this past year but I am alive and healthy to see another birthday and i have some of the best friends and family i could ever ask for. :) I am truly thankful. I am, however, still working out a few kinks on this journey called 'life'. Slowly but surely, things are falling into place. That's all for now.

Tuesday, May 26, 2009

Sweet dreams...hopefully.

So today is day four of having this hideous MRSA abscess. Thank god the Clindamyacin is starting to work. I can't go back to work untill my cultures come back negative. That means no work untill at least thursday, and THAT means i'll probably have to work on my birthday to make up for the three days i have missed this week. FML. I got my new bed i wanted for my birthday, a nice new queen size pillow top. Now kyle and i can sleep in the same bed comfortably. If i could only get him to stop snoring. My next purchase will be one of those down-filled mattress toppers to add a little extra fluff to our new bed. yay!! Kyle came home from Maryland today. We are starting to get back into the normal routine of things now that he is home. Thankfully, my awesome mom came over everyday for the last three days and took care of me and helped me out around the apartment. Dunno what i would have done without her. :) I can't wait to get my new stuff from Etsy in the mail! I am wondering what i will be doing with all my free time for the next few days until i am able to go back to work?! Well, sorry for the lack of excitement in this post but i'm heading to bed. <3

Sunday, May 24, 2009

My newest purchases from Etsy!



GLAMOROUS BUTTERFLY-----------RETRACTABLE ID BADGE REEL







Super cute, right??

FML....

so the past few days have not been so great. for starters, i had a sore throat and other cold-like symptoms and missed work on friday. on top of that, i developed an absess on my left lower lip/chin and the swelling and pain got so bad, the nurses on my floor recommendedthat if it didnt improve overnight that i should go to the ER this morning. Needless to say, it got worse. :( I went to the ER and was luckily in and out within 3-4hrs. It helps when you work there. lol they said at this point my absess can't be drained because its not soft. they prescribed clindamyacin for the MRSA in the absess and vicodin for the pain. i feel like i got punched in the jaw and my lip is super swollen. awesome. the doctor told me that if i didnt see/feel a significant improvement in 48-72hrs to come back to the ER and have the absess I&D'ed (incised and drained). i hope it doesnt come to that but i know it will feel better when it's drained. I've assisted with many I&D procedures on patients on my floor and i know they hurt. they would basically make an incision with a scalpel on my absess and drain the fluid/puss and then pack the open wound. so it wont be pretty. because the absess has moved further up to my lower lip, they dont want it to cause cosmetic issues either. it would suck to have my lip incised. mom has been taking care of me all day. i may be almost 22, but when i'm sick or hurt, i still want my mom. lol luckily we only live 2 mins from each other. she even went and did some grocery shopping and picked up my prescriptions for me. On another more lighter note, (lol) i have recently discovered i am addicted to Etsy.com. they have such cute things for cheap. i love all the handmade stuff. many of their vintage products caught my eye as well. At least i'll have something to do/look at while i'm stuck hiding away in my apartment drugged up on vicodin. lol another fun web site that entertains me for hours is fmylife.com. the stories are hilarious. i could sit and read them and not even realize an hour has passed. they are good for a laugh. Well, i'm off to find some cute stuff on Etsy. maybe later i'll post some pix of my finds. bye for now!

Friday, May 22, 2009

Another rainy day

Since this is my first post, it probably wont be too interesting. Bare with me, they will improve in time.

So i woke up at 5am this morning feeling worse than i did when i finally went to sleep at 2am. I know i'm getting sick. Awesome. My throat hurts, my body aches, i'm exausted, and just feel "blah". So, i called into work. Oops. Hope i don't get chewed out for that. On another note, Kyle is on day 2 of his wrestling tournament journey. They drove to Virginia yesterday and stayed there over night. Today he and his wrestlers are traveling to Maryland to prepare for the tournament, which is tomorrow through monday. He should be home late monday or early tuesday. Meanwhile, it's just me and my baby brody (the doggie) at the apartment. I miss kyle, but on the other hand, i dont mind the time to myself. I get a lot done on my days off and get a good nights sleep after a long day's work (since i don't have someone next to me snoring loudly ALL night). The only downside is being here alone at night. That is one thing i'm not too fond of. So far, it hasn't been so bad though. My birthday is next friday. I'll be 22. Man, where did the time go?? I feel like i just turned 21! This year wont be as exciting as my birthday was last year, but at least i have the day off! lol Kyle's birthday is four days after mine. I have no idea what i want or what i should get him. We want a new, bigger bed. Maybe that should be our gift to eachother. He wants to take me to look at engagement rings when he gets home. We've been together for three years next month, are we ready to take the next step? :) I looked online and found some rings i like. So maybe next weekend when i'm off we can head to the mall and try some on! So many of the girls i know that are my age have babies and husbands. I feel like the 'odd one' since i dont have either of those. I don't regret my decision to have kids and marry at a young age. I don't look down on those who did choose to marry young and start a family either. Truthfully, i envy them, but deep down i know the time isn't just right for kyle and i to have a baby. As badly as i want a baby, i'll have to wait a little longer until that time presents itself. "God, continue to give me patience!" On the subject of school, i recently decided i have NO idea what i want anymore. I'm questioning nursing school because i know i am not that great of a student and just plain hate school. But, i have worked at the hospital for almost four years and have been exposed to so many great things that i almost think nursing school would be fairly easy for me. I think i'm just scared to fail. I'm very 'hands on' at work and always look to do new things. Because TGH is a teaching hospital, i get the opportunity to do more with my patients and i love that. I know i definately want to do something in the medical field, i just hope i am strong enough and smart enough to fulfill my dream of becoming a pediatric nurse. After seeing what the nurses go through and the stress of the job, sometimes i think to myself, "there's no way in hell i could put up with that". Other times, i can't wait to be "Ashley Willis, RN." Oh well, i'm taking the summer semester off to work more and decide what i want to do about school in the fall. Hopefully by then i'll have things figured out. Anyways.... it's rainy and gloomy out again today, which i don't really mind since i'm sick and have the whole day to lay around and relax. Hopefully it storms later. I sleep the best during thunderstorms. Well, I think i'll make some breakfast.
My plan(s) for the day:

1.) eat breakfast
2.) do a load of laundry
3.) clean up around the house a bit
4.) naptime?
5.) lunch
6.) relax
7.) dinner time
8.) bedtime

Later.